Life. ‘Nough Said

Ok so here is my 2nd attempt at starting a.blog. I tried a week ago and had the whole thing written out but nope it got deleted accidently…go figure. So finally I got motivated enough to start again. 
Today is my 28th birthday so hey what a great day to start again.  I kind of want this to be about well my life, mainly with my progress in getting into top shape to run my first marathon next year and well just some of the things going on in my life and how I cope with them. I don’t want thebfocus to be on what the issues are but more about how I deal with them and the result of my actions.

This is more for me more than anything. Yeah,  if you’re reading this I want you to enjoy reading it and possibly get something out of it, but at the end of the day I’m more worried about if this is helping me and growing as a person and nbettering myself. Because Lord knows I don’t feel like I’m doing a great job right now.

Well lets start with running. For the 8th time I ran the bear. A 5 Mike race up grandfather mountain. Oh yeah its a stupid to do as it sounds,but damn it I love running that race. My training wasn’t nearly as much as it should have been but I still beat my goal of running in under an hour! I was nervous that I wouldn’t be able to make it but somehow I came across the finish line at 57:16 and 398th place and I believe that’s out of 800 people give or take a few. It felt like a relief standing on top of that mountain knowing what I had just accomplished. The weight of the world was off my shoulders for that hour…running and then looking out on the world nothing else mattered. I was free.

That’s his I need to handle my stress. Ill be the first person to admit that I suck at dealing with stress sometimes.  But running for that length of time I’m out there that is the best therapy there is for me. I don’t see myself running away from my problems but more like working to become stronger and face them head on. That’s how I know ive had a great run…I finish and I may be so exhausted I can barely stand up but I still feel like I can take on whatever life throws at me. And trust me life has thrown me a couple of curves balls, hell even a couple to the crown jewels. More like they’ve all been thrown there. However, like any true professional you get back up walk it off and get out there and keep playing and that’s what I’m going to do. No matter what happens in my life from here on out, I shall overcome it all.

Leave a comment